Description of Central Image and Inner Ring

The Central Image

The Central Image can be thought of as “Crossroads” -- the convergence of geographical and infrastructural elements that are at the core of our founding and development as a city.  The importance of each crossroad is illustrated throughout the seal narrative.

These Crossroads are:

Putah Creek (North and South forks);  The Railroad; The Lincoln Highway; Interstate 80; Highway 113;

The Pacific Flyway is the 6th element of crossroads, and is represented in the large intersecting panels featuring migrating birds (see panel images on main seal page.

Imagery of the Inner Ring

The Inner Ring surrounding the central image tells the story of the early history of our area. Proceeding in a clockwise direction:

• The native Patwin people, members of the Wintun Nation lived in harmony with nature in permanent villages of earth-covered domes established along Putah Creek.

• The arrival of the first Europeans, missionaries who forcibly removed indigenous inhabitants for Christianization, and hunters and trappers who came to the area as part of the California fur trade. These and other early settlers arrived during the Spanish and Mexican eras.

• The coat of arms of the Viceroyalty of New Spain, representing   the era of Spanish sovereignty in California.

• Beaver, otter, and fox, native animals of the Putah Creek riparian habitat, and the targets of early trappers in California.

* The Coat of Arms of newly independent Mexico, representing the Mexican era of sovereignty in California.

* Many of the early settlers arrived by wagon train and were awarded land under the Mexican Land Grant system.

* The farm of Jerome Davis, the namesake of our city.

* The Great Seal of California, representing the admission of California as the 31st state of the union.  The inner ring, therefore,  is one depicting great change: a devastation of an ancient people and culture, an immigration of white settlers, a change in the landscape and livelihood in the region, and a transition through four eras of sovereignty: Indian (which is ongoing), Spanish, Mexican, and United States sovereignty.